The Ninth Workshop on the Economics of Information Security (WEIS 2010)

Harvard University, USA

June 7-8, 2010

Information security continues to grow in importance, as threats proliferate, privacy erodes, and attackers find new sources of value. Yet the security of information systems depends on more than just technology. Good security requires an understanding of the incentives and tradeoffs inherent to the behavior of systems and organizations. As society�s dependence on information technology has deepened, policy makers, including the President of the United States, have taken notice. Now more than ever, careful research is needed to accurately characterize threats and countermeasures, in both the public and private sectors.

The Workshop on the Economics of Information Security (WEIS) is the leading forum for interdisciplinary scholarship on information security, combining expertise from the fields of economics, social science, business, law, policy and computer science. Prior workshops have explored the role of incentives between attackers and defenders, identified market failures dogging Internet security, and assessed investments in cyber-defense. This workshop will build on past efforts using empirical and analytic tools to not only understand threats, but also strengthen security through novel evaluations of available solutions. How should information risk be modeled given the constraints of rare incidence and high interdependence? How do individuals� and organizations� perceptions of privacy and security color their decision making? How can we move towards a more secure information infrastructure and code base while accounting for the incentives of stakeholders?

We have assembled an exciting program of 24 peer-reviewed papers from leading researchers. Sessions include:

  • Data Breaches and Organizational Security
  • Privacy and Controversial Social Issues
  • Empirical Studies
  • Economic and Policy Considerations for ISPs
  • Scale and the Economics of the Cloud
  • Open Source and Security Management
  • The program also includes a keynote speaker and a panel on policy for payment system security. See the program for more details.

    Registration is open to the public. We encourage economists, computer scientists, business school researchers, legal scholars, security and privacy specialists, as well as industry experts to participate by attending the workshop. Please click here to register.

    Please note that you do not need to have submitted a paper to participate in the workshop.

    We also encourage those who have a late-breaking idea they'd like to share with the conference to participate in the rump session, to be held on the evening of Tuesday, June 8. Email [email protected] with subject 'WEIS rump session' and we'll reserve a 5-minute slot. You can also sign up for the rump session at the conference itself.

    WEIS is co-located with the 11th ACM Conference on Electronic Commerce, June 9-11.


    Program Chair
    Tyler MooreHarvard University
    General Chair
    Allan Friedman Harvard University
    Program Committee
    Alessandro AcquistiCarnegie Mellon University
    Ross Anderson University of Cambridge
    Rainer Böhme ICSI Berkeley
    Jean Camp Indiana University
    Huseyin CavusogluUniversity of Texas at Dallas
    Nicolas Christin Carnegie Mellon University
    Benjamin Edelman Harvard Business School
    Allan Friedman Harvard University
    Neil Gandal Tel Aviv University
    Dan Geer In-Q-Tel
    Lawrence Gordon University of Maryland
    Jens Grossklags Princeton University
    Thorsten Holz Technical University of Vienna
    M. Eric Johnson Darthmouth Tuck School of Business
    Martin Loeb University of Maryland
    Tyler Moore Harvard University
    Andrew Odlyzko University of Minnesota
    David Pym HP Labs and University of Bath
    Brent Rowe RTI International
    Stuart Schechter Microsoft Research
    Bruce Schneier BT Counterpane
    Rick Sullivan Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City
    Latanya Sweeney Carnegie Mellon University
    Rahul Telang Carnegie Mellon University
    Catherine Tucker MIT
    Michel van Eeten Delft University of Technology
    Hal Varian Google and UC Berkeley
    Jonathan Zittrain Harvard Law School